Welcome to the Prairie Village Police Department’s home page. The Police Department is comprised of 47 sworn officers and 13 civilian employees who provide 24-hour law enforcement services for the communities of Prairie Village and the City of Mission Hills. We take great pride in serving our citizens and value the partnerships we have forged throughout the years. We have never forgotten our humble beginnings, the importance of community partnerships and the high standards we strive to maintain. Our Department motto - “A Tradition of Service” - reinforces our commitment to community and is proudly displayed on every marked patrol unit and throughout our facility.

It is our hope you will find the resources you need while navigating our web page. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact someone through our Staff Directory.

Chief Tim M. Schwartzkopf 

Honor Guard

Click on the badge to
report a crime in your

Police Badge

Contacting the Police

Fire protection in Prairie Village is provided by Johnson County Consolidated Fire District #2.